Here’s what time polls close in each state in the United States.

Although the United States had a record number of early votes in the presidential election, tens of millions of American voters went to polling stations across the country on Tuesday.

Polls closed at 6:00 p.m. Eastern Standard Time (23:00 GMT) in the US, and closing times vary by state.

Here’s when the polls close in each state:

18:00 Eastern Standard Time (23:00 GMT)

  • Indiana (80 eastern counties)
  • Kentucky (eastern counties)

19:00 Eastern Standard Time (midnight or 00:00 GMT)

  • Florida * (Polls close at 7:00 p.m. EST outside of Florida’s Panhandle)
  • Georgia
  • Indiana * (12 western counties)
  • Kentucky (western counties)
  • South carolina
  • Vermont
  • Virginia

19:30 Eastern Standard Time (00:30 GMT Wednesday)

  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • West Virginia

20:00 Eastern Standard Time (01:00 GMT Wednesday)

  • Alabama
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida * (polls close at 7:00 p.m. EST outside of Florida’s Panhandle)
  • Illinois
  • Kansas * (polls closed in 101 eastern counties)
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan * (polls closed in 79 eastern counties)
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska * (polls closed in 75 eastern counties)
  • New Hampshire * (elective degrees may vary by community)
  • New Jersey
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania
  • Rhode Island
  • Tennessee * (Closing times vary by state)
  • Texas * (252 western counties)

20:30 Eastern Standard Time (Wednesday 01:30 GMT)

21:00 Eastern Standard Time (02:00 GMT Wednesday)

  • Arizona
  • Colorado
  • Kansas * (Polls in 101 eastern counties close at 8:00 p.m. EST)
  • Louisiana
  • Michigan * (Polls close at 8:00 p.m. EST in 79 eastern counties)
  • Minnesota
  • Nebraska * (polls in 75 eastern counties close at 8:00 p.m. EST)
  • New Mexico
  • new York
  • North Dakota * (election times vary by state)
  • South Dakota * (Surveys in Eastern Counties close at 8:00 PM EST)
  • Texas * (polls in 252 western counties close at 8:00 p.m. EST)
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

10:00 PM Eastern Standard Time (03:00 GMT Wednesday)

  • Idaho * (polls closed in southern counties)
  • Iowa
  • Montana
  • Nevada
  • Utah

23:00 Eastern Standard Time (04:00 GMT Wednesday)

  • California
  • Idaho * (Surveys in southern counties close at 10:00 PM EST)
  • Oregon
  • Washington

00:00 Eastern Standard Time (05:00 GMT Wednesday)

01:00 Eastern Standard Time (06:00 GMT Wednesday)

The results will not be received until the state surveys are completed.

Winner predictions are not made until all polling stations in a state are closed. Initial projections of states that Donald Trump and Joe Biden have won won’t begin until 7:00 p.m. EST (00:00 GMT), when all polls in nine states are completed.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here