The Inside Out LGBT Film Festival today announced its judged winners. The top honors went to Faraz Shariet’s No Hard Feelings for Best First Feature and Aisling Chin-Yee and Chase Joynt’s No Ordinary Man for Best Canadian Feature Film. The winners were announced by Andria Wilson, Executive Director of Inside Out, and Andrew Murphy, Director of Programming for the festival. The festival lasts until October 11th.

For the first time in the festival’s history, the awards were announced on the opening weekend, giving audiences the opportunity to view the films throughout the digital festival dates. The audience winners will be announced on October 12th.

Read the full list of winners below.


The 2020 Canadian Jury jurors were Toronto-based cinematographer Ashley Iris Gill, Canadian Film Award-winning actress Natasha Negovanlis, and writer, musician and educator Scott Jones.

Aspiring Canadian artist
BODY SO FLUORESCENT – Director David Di Giovanni

Best Canadian shorts
SWIMMER – Director Chris Ross

Best Canadian Feature
NOT A DECENT MAN – Directors, Aisling Chin-Yee and Chase Joynt


The judges for the 2020 international jury were 40-year-old producer Inuka Bacote-Capiga, IndieWire’s associate editor, Jude Dry, and Variety Artisans editor, Jazz Tangcay.

Best first feature
NO HEAVY EMOTIONS – Director Faraz Shariat